Guests' Thoughts About the Farmhouse or Both Buildings
'Cape Only' Reviews below....
Guests' Pictures

These guests were either B&B guests,
or rented either the Cape or the Farmhouse or both...as a vacation rental.

July 22-29, 2013 Farmhouse and Cape rental

Melissa, the family had a great time. The drums and xylophone were real hits with the little ones and the great room of the farm house was perfect for gatherings. We didn't see your deer but saw a chip monk, eagle and assorted birds and butterfly'.!

Jeanne M, Novato, California

We had a lovely time there!

Don L, Ventura, California

July 19-22, 2013 Farmhouse rental

Hi Melissa,
I wanted to let you know what a great time we had at the farm house last weekend.  I will send the pictures of the wedding cake shortly.
The farmhouse is a spacious nicely decorated relaxing vacation spot. It is well equipped with comfortable beds and clean through out. The farmhouse is in a beautiful setting overlooking a tidal inlet. We were a large group in town for a wedding. Our time at the farm house was very enjoyable. There was plenty or room for all of us, we had a great time sitting around the giant table and laughing the night away. Just be careful of the family airlooms that adorn the place.

Sincerely
Richard P, Stow, MA
July 6-13, 2013 Farmhouse rental

Hi Melissa,
We had a great time and back into somewhat of our routine. We have a few days left on our vacation so we are still taking it easy here.

We'll do tea another time maybe! If we ever go back down your way we will be sure to stop by and say "hi"!
Thanks again for renting out your lovely farmhouse. We will cherish the memories for a long time!

Enjoy the rest of your summer!
All my best

Johanne L, Montreal, Canada

July 2-6, 2013 Farmhouse rental

Hello Melissa,
We are so excited that our vacation is approaching so quickly. Everyone in our group has read the policy manual and we will certainly ask you if we have any questions. We plan to leave Pulaski at 5AM, but with a toddler it will take longer than 8.5 hours. We plan to stop a few times along the way....
Thank you for providing such a beautiful home--we plan to come back some day.

Jeff L, Pulaski, NY
June, 2013 Farmhouse and Cape rental

Hi Melissa, We wanted to write and tell you that we enjoyed our second stay at your Bold Colorful Life estate immensely. We hope to return again and again. Last time, we loved the Farmhouse…the spacious, comfortable rooms, the wonderful 200 year old barn timbers in the Great room and the amazing view of the river. Everything was even better than the website pictures promised. Our daughter wanted to repaint our whole house in brighter colors after seeing what you did with your Inn!

We enjoyed doing our crafts and having meals around that huge table….more than enough room for our 11 person group. The breezes off the river and all the paddle fans cooled the summer sun and the eagles and blue heron were a delight. The kitchen was so well equipped…there wasn’t a recipe we couldn’t create...and we made quite a feast. Thanks for giving us the tour and for answering our questions and needs along the way…it was good to have you nearby when we wanted you.

This time, it was the historic Cape, for our smaller group. Again, the colorful and whimsical rooms were SO comfortable and we got caught up on sleep…so important for our vacation. Our daughter brought a friend this time and they loved the cozy bunks and their own private bath. We love your wildflowers and the emerald green lawns between them, and we love all the stone benches and hammocks, in perfect spots for resting.

We didn’t see the eagles, but loved the bullfrogs and the last of the tree frogs around the pond. Thanks again for giving us the perfect spot to gather with family members, catch up with each other and with rest, enjoy the beauty of waterfront Maine and of the Boothbay peninsula. We recommend the gardens, lighthouse tours, nearby hikes and downtown waterfront restaurants to your other guests. See you next year!

Annie T, Annapolis, MD

June 6-9, 2013 Farmhouse Rental

Perfect Rental for Group of Friends!
A group of 8 ladies rented this farmhouse for a weekend getaway in June. We live in New Hampshire and found the rental online. Boothbay Harbor was fun to explore for a day. The Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens is a MUST visit. Spend at least 3 hours there. Great for the family and any garden lovers. This was a perfect rental for our group! Plenty of private space for everyone and great community rooms: kitchen, porch and living area.

The kitchen was a highlight with the long table to enjoy meals and games after dinners. The large living room with the wall of windows was relaxing to sit, read, listen to music and enjoy the view. We enjoyed coffee on the deck seeing a deer in the field and listened to many birds singing beautifully every morning. The house is decorated with beautiful vibrant, fun colors. The kitchen is well stocked with plenty of dishes, drinkware & serving pieces which all feel new - not worn as some rentals. Great rental for a group - we felt like we were in someone's country home

Melissa was attentive to any need we might have and responded so quickly as we corresponded planning our weekend away. The rooms were so clean as were the bathrooms. The color coordination of all the rooms was so creative.. definitely planned by an artist! This is a special rental that would be wonderful for family or small group - comes highly recommended!

Faith M, Warner, NH

April 27, 2013 B&B Girl's Reunion

Our stay was absolutely wonderful! Melissa made our time at her retreat feel like home. She was very hospitable and by the time we left, I felt like I had known her for years!

Kathy S, Lewiston, ME

November 30, 2012 Farmhouse and Cape Rental

Melissa is the perfect hostess and Bold Colorful Life is the best location for our annual family Christmas.. We are a family of seven adult children and 15 grandchildren.. most from away.. so this was our second year of being lucky enough to meet here for our family holiday,

 The dining table is the perfect place for holiday crafts, cookie making and the kitchen is perfect for our appetizer and dessert contest chefs. The great room with the largest christmas tree we have ever seen, was perfect for relaxing, games or an evening of Karaoke..Yikes.

The bedrooms are so comfortable and the kids love the fact they all have their own bathrooms! See you in 2013 Melissa!

Mary P, Boothbay Harbor, ME and Charleston, SC

September 3, 2012 Farmhouse and Cape rental

A beautiful spot for a wedding!
My fiancee (now husband!) and I, along with our families, rented both the farmhouse and cape house on this property for a week in early September. At the end of the week, we had a small wedding in the back yard, overlooking the beautiful Back River. We simply could not have asked for a better setting for our wedding!! The property is absolutely lovely, and the view of the Back River from the farmhouse is breathtaking.

The houses are bold, colorful, and beautiful, as is the proprietor, Melissa! With 9 bedrooms between the two houses (5 in the farmhouse and 4 in the cape), each with a private bathroom, this place would be perfect for any large group!

Finally, the location of this property is perfect- close enough to Boothbay Harbor to easily pop into town for shopping or dinner, but far enough out of town to get away from the hubbub and enjoy some peace and quiet!

Melissa is warm and welcoming, and makes you feel like family from the moment you arrive. What a beautiful place for a vacation, and a wonderful way to start our married life! Thanks Melissa!

Kelli C, VT

10/7-12/10 Destination Wedding-Vacation Rental
 

We recently rented the entire farmhouse for our wedding location, what a FANTASTIC place. Melissa is so much more than just a wonderful hostess. Every communication with Melissa left me with a big smile on my face. She's truly a special person who enjoys sharing her stunning property and incredibly gracious nature with others. I had hired a bagpiper to play as a surprise for my new husband & our guests. Melissa was as delighted as I was figuring out exactly where to hide him for his grand entrance, working out the perfect location & timing to the last detail. :) She made our stay a truly lovely one. Thank you, Melissa"..xx,
Lori R, Exeter, NH


Dear Melissa, It was an honor to share in Lori and Donovan's special day and even more special to live out these moments in your FABULOUS home! You were so gracious and I have to say thank you! Love, Chris and Scott

9/2-6/10 Destination Wedding-Estate Rental

Dear Melissa, I know I told you before, but we had a great time.  So many people have commented on the venue (because it's the coolest ever).  I really think the vibe of the land and the bright decor brings out the best in people - at least that's what it does to me!  Thanks for being so hospitable.

Best Kara M, New York, NY

8/28/10 Bachelorette Party-Estate Rental

You have such a wonderful place here. No where else could you find the beauty of the landscaping and view along with the wonderfully creative and artistic house. This relaxing and fun weekend was the perfect bachelorette party setting. Thank you so much for sharing this with us.
Laura, "The Bride"
7/10-17/10 Farmhouse Rental

Wonderful, magical place. The view, the peace, the colors, the comfortable home makes it a very successful vacation for grownups, kids and grandkids. Thank you, Melissa
Elisabeth S, Princeton, NJ
7/31/10 Farmhouse Rental

This place worked out great! Where else can you find a compound that can handle 10 people of all ages. This was a 70th birthday for me and the first time we had ever tried a family reunion, ever. We had a great time and wonderful weather the whole week.
What more could you ask for.

The Tony B Clan
7/10-17/10 Farmhouse Rental

This is a wonderful  house! So lovely and charming. We all loved going down to the water and pond. The animals were beautiful. The view is exhilarating! We all came to celebrate Fran and John's 50th anniversary and this house was the perfect place! I will miss seeing the fog roll in, the beautiful weather and going on hikes. And most of all....the ocean. Thank you!
Ingrid, Ron, Camille, Erin, Fran, Monica, Erik, John, Olivia and Jems
7/3-10/10 Farmhouse Rental

I am sitting at the enormous kitchen table at dusk, watching the fog roll in over the water....so very beautiful. We came here to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. our four children, two sons-in-law and our four grandsons--ages 5, 4, 2 &1 joined us for the week. The twelve of us so enjoyed the roomy indoor spaces along with the endless outdoor spaces to play. Your gardens are stunning and charming. Thank you for a wonderful week!
Charlie and Debbie W, Stonington, CT; Heather, Jon and Morrison F, Providence, R.I.; Erin W, Providence, R.I.; Julie, Juan, Diago, Joaquin and Lorenzo, Providence, R.I.
6/25-28/10 Farmhouse Rental

For 12 years we have traveled to different locations for our girls weekend away. We have stayed in every state in New England and to New York and we were so lucky to have found your  home in beautiful Boothbay, Maine. This year was a special occasion as 3 of us were celebrating a milestone birthday. Your colorful and uniquely decorated home made it a great place for this celebration. We enjoyed having our morning coffee on the deck and admiring the view of the river. we'd love to come back for another visit and woould recommend your place to anyone coming to this area
The Girls from Massachusetts! Jane, Tewksbury; Karen, Lynn; Kathy, No. Reading; Maryjane, Reading; Paula, Winthrop; Peggy, Peabody.
9/16/09 B&B Farmhouse
What a beautiful Sept. morn! The crispness in the air sends a clear msg to my soul--thank you for allowing us to spend a little time at your Haven! The energy here is Magical! In about 2 weeks I'm certain the foliage will be breathtaking. I'm certain our paths shall meet again--
Sandy and Bob, Voluntown, CT
8/23/09 Farmhouse Rental

Dearest Melissa, Thank you for providing the perfect place for our family. From the moment we walked in the front door, we all felt "at home". Each room is special and very beautiful. The grounds are lovely and provide a place to "unwind"... See you soon
Elaine B
8/16/09 Estate Rental
"Dear Melissa, What can I say. Not only do you have a beautiful place, but the company was wonderful. I'm so glad our Class of '70 girls could all get together. The songs and laughter will stay for a long time. We'll definitely recommend it to others". Joanne B K

"Refreshingly bold, intensely focused, and perfectly integrated; you have created the ideal environment here at Bold Colorful Life!" Gail B

"The view, the breeze, the water, the friendship, a lovely place in Maine." Jeannine S
7/10-13, 2009 Farmhouse Rental

My 3 sisters and all of our spouses spent a long weekend at this fabulous farmhouse from 7/10-7/13/09.  All 8 of us had a fantastic time.  The farmhouse is a gorgeous creation by Melissa Thornton.  She has taken pieces from the barn that once stood on the property and built this beautiful farmhouse with a spectacular view of the river that is surrounded by acres of wonderful wildlife of all kinds.  The house has 5 beautiful colorful bedrooms all with their own baths.  The kitchen is enormous with everything you need.  Fully stocked and a table that seats 14 easily.  The greatroom is full of windows and more windows that also look out over the river.  Lots of space in this very large cathedral ceiling room.  It's the perfect place to hang out together and read, do puzzles, play games or just talk and laugh  Just awesome!  So much to offer right on-site and if you are looking to get out and about, the beautiful botanical gardens and Boothbay Harbor are only minutes away.  I can't say enough about the property and Melissa was a fantastic host.  She was very accommodating and attentive to her guests.  Would definitely return for another stay!
Linda M, Goffstown,NH

What a wonderful place! You've done such a great job creating a warm, inviting home away from home. We couldn't ask for a more comfortable place. And the view is breathtaking. We will recommend you to anyone coming up this way. We look forward to coming up again during a different season to see the changes. Thanks again
Dan & Jeri T,  Cindy A, Paul L, Howe and Dawn W, Goffstown, NH

7/23/09 B&B Farmhouse

We have the honor of being the 'first' B&B guests in the Bold Colorful Life Farmhouse. We remain impressed with Melissa's energy, enthusiasm and vision. We look forward to our return so that we can follow the progress of the Inn's evolution. Our suggestions, as return visitors to the Boothbay area, include the bouillabaisse at Fisherman's Wharf Inn, fish and chips at Bette's Famous Fried Fish, and steamed lobster at Robinson's Wharf on Southport Island. The Mung Bean is downtown BB Harbor is a must stop with each visit.

Best wishes, Melissa, for continued success

Fran and John J, Elmira, New York

Guest's Thought about the "Cape Only"

August 11-16, 2013 Cape rental

This was our first time renting a house for our family summer getaway and it met
all our expectations. It was charming, warm, and cozy. Every bedroom was
pleasant and colorful and each had an adjoining bathroom which was wonderful.
The kitchen was great for the many meals we put together. We loved the deck. The
grounds were lovely to walk around and Melissa is such a great hostess. Thanks
Melissa for making our Maine vacation so memorable!

Marian H, Marblehead, MA

July 6-13, 2013 Cape rental

Hi Melissa,
We pretty much got to do everything we'd hope for and really enjoyed the area.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful home and responding to our needs early on.
I hope you have a wonderful rest of the summer.

Best,

Art A, Kennett Square, PA
June 29-July 6, 2013  Cape rental

Hi Melissa….yes, trip home went well and landed safely into PHX. Hubby returned to work this morning so vacation is fun memories….west coast kiddos return to school in couple weeks (get out mid-May so summer flew by). Beautiful state is Maine…we enjoyed!

Have a wonderful summer….warmly,

Fran L, Chandler, Arizona
August, 2010 Cape Rental

The three families had a 'boldly colorful' week in the Cape House. We had terrific weather, lots of adventures, great food, and lots of laughs. Thanks for putting us up in the cozy cottage. Good luck with the project and we'll be back.

Peter and Pam B, Mashpee, Mass.

August, 2010 Cape Rental

Our two families had a very enjoyable vacation in Mid-coast Maine. We think we ate four blueberry pies!!! The house was perfect for our needs...really lovely. Thanks very much.

Katherine, Carl, Alexander, Jim, Assun, Ariadna, Roksana, West Chester, PA and Barcelona, Spain

August, 2010 Cape Rental

Thank you for a peaceful, relaxing and restorative vacation! This house has brought several people back together after many years of not being able to see each other and we have been able to reconnect on so many more levels that only the serenity here could have brought us.

David B, Angela B, Nora B, Jessica R, Nicole, Bart, Joshua and Lauren A, Bill K, King's Park, NY

August, 2010 B&B Cape

Wonderful place, Melissa! We feel very much at home and have loved learning how to live the bold colorful life! Thank you.
Celeste and Sam H, Harwinton, CT

July, 2010 Cape Rental

Thanks, Melissa.

Everything was perfect. We all enjoyed the stay and contribute much of the joy and pleasure to your place. Thanks again
Julie, Nick, Seth, Marie, Ben, Eli and Henry M, East Hampton, CT

May, 2010 Cape Rental

Dear Melissa,

Laughter, tears, friendship, laughter....thank you for being the catalyst.

Gwen R, Connecticut

01/25/10 Cape Rental
I stayed in the Cape on my second visit to Bold Colorful Life and I felt INSTANTLY at home. This house is the epitome of cozy. It made me want to cook food, drink cocoa and write my memoirs! The land, the house, the town, and Melissa--all inspiring and fantastic. I didn't want to leave and I find myself constantly scheming to get back up there!!

Sunnye C, Boston, MA

September, 2009 B&B Cape

Our visit felt like home sweet home. Very peaceful, great CDs and Melissa has such a bubbly personality. As far as a return visit, I would rate this as an A+. Thank you

Brenda, S, Connecticut

August, 2009 Cape Rental

Melissa, we all had a fantastic time here. The house was everything we imagined it to be, very comfortable and welcoming. Boothbay and the surrounding area was a lot of fun to explore, the kids said it was the best vacation they have ever had and we are sad to leave. Thank you for everything and we look forward to coming back to see you soon.

Sarah, Jeff, Hannah, Sam and Max K, Orlando, Florida

8/10/09 B&B Cape
"Your Inn is wonderful! The kids especially like the pond and kayaking in the river. We all enjoyed your hospitality and the great, healthy breakfast you served. We hope this great adventure works out well--we know it will!" Mark, Kim, Aaron and Christine S
August, 2009 B&B Cape

If you are looking for an incredible Bed and Breakfast and/or retreat center, look no further. Not only is the Bold Colorful Life Inn set on the most amazing site, it's a fabulous place to spend time.

Matt G, Maine

July, 2009 Cape Rental

What a bold and colorful cape!

I recently stayed in the Bold Colorful Life Cape house with 8 of my friends for another friends wedding in Boothbay.  While a bunch of people were staying at a hotel in town, we were all very glad we made the decision to rent this house as opposed to the hotel.  The house was so quaint, cute and comfortable.  It had everything we needed...from towels to dish soap to pots and pans and olive oil.  It was amazing that everyone pretty much had their own bathroom attached to their room.  Melissa was even kind enough to get us an iron and ironing board so we could all look presentable on the big day, having traveled from San Francisco.  While the house was compact, it did not feel small and we each had plenty of space.  The setting is amazing.  We had a great time before the wedding taking the inflatable rafts for a paddle around the bay, which you can walk right down to from the house.  Some people even swam to the island, that is about 500 yards off the waterfront.  The setting is absolutely serene and peaceful.  It felt so good to get away! We've all been saying that we wish we were still living the Bold Colorful Life, since we've gotten back to California.  I would definately recommend this house to anyone who wants to visit the area.  I hope to be able to return some day.
 
Lauren B, San Francisco

June, 2009 B&B Cape

This place is so quaint and homey it would be easy to live in. Thank you for your hospitality and warm welcome. You're a born natural for this line of work. Only the best,

Nancy D, Greenville, Maine

May, 2009 B&B Cape

Our first stay here was very enjoyable. We will definitely be back again in the future. Melissa's personality is perfect for the Inn. She could make the sun shine out of the clouds. The room was very comfortable...we slept like babies. It's a little paradise in the midst of this crazy world we live in.
Al and Ronda J, Bradley, Maine
February, 2009 Cape Rental

We love the experience of visiting this Cape. We take the whole building every time we come. The site is absolutely beautiful--15 acres of lawns and gardens; views of the fresh water pond AND the Back River...lots of wildlife. The estate is near the end of a long, residential road and it's quiet and peaceful. It was a serene getaway, every time.
The Cape house itself is a perfect combination of historical and new. It dates back past the Civil War and has an historic brick chimney, wide pine floor boards and a wonderful porch that wraps all the way around the house. It is also completely renovated and it has every convenience that we need--full kitchen, gas grill, TVs in every bedroom and the living room, wireless Internet for those email moments, good cell reception. We were sequestered away from the world, at the same time that we were able to be in touch if we wanted to.

We have returned to this site three times and will keep coming back. We give it a 5 star rating!

Chris Harrington, Monroe, Maine
September, 2008 B&B Cape

Thank you for sharing your little piece of paradise with us. We will be back!
Linda N, TN

September, 2008 B&B Cape

Thanks for your Bold Colorful Hospitality. We truly enjoyed meeting you and being here--and the kayaking was spectacular! We look forward to watching your creations evolve here, over time. You have a beautiful vision for this beautiful place.
Eric A and Jane B, Ashland, Oregon
September, 2008 B&B Cape

We so enjoyed the hospitality of Melissa--and the peaceful surroundings! We wish you all the best with your wonderful adventure....we do want to come back and see the progress. Thank you for all.
Helga and Carl D, Wells, Maine

August, 2008 B&B Cape

This was a true find! What an enjoyable stay we had---the hospitality was unmatched! I look forward to coming back in the future. Spectacular! Thank you!
Rod and Jean C., Girara, Ohio

Thank you for the great hospitality. It felt like coming home for a visit with our neighbors and old friends and family.
Thanks, Melissa! We wish you the best of luck with your mini-resort.

Ron and Gere P., Girara, Ohio

August, 2008 B&B Cape

We had a lovely time--kayaking next time--thanks for the eagle siting!!
 Sybil S, Nashville, TN

August, 2008 B&B Cape

Here on a whim but it seems not by chance. Had a very peaceful, comfortable stay and very much enjoyed the company.

Matthew and Susan G., Seattle, Washington and Hamden, Connecticut

August, 2008 B&B Cape

Thanks for the comfy, cozy stay in the Amber Suite. We loved it!

Sandy and Ken J, Winthrop, Maine
August, 2008 B&B Cape

Wonderful, relaxing stay in the "Garnet Room" of the Cape. After some showers the first day, the sun broke through and the place was glorious. We kayaked, your harbor seals surrounding our boats; ate lobster; read; walked the Porter's Preserve and the magnificent Botanical Garden. A perfect weekend!

Thanks, Melissa for a great weekend!
Mike S., Milford, Connecticut

July, 2008 B&B Cape

Hi Melissa,

Thank you so much for a wonderful visit!  We had a great time.  You have a treasure there and are doing a terrific job fixing it up. 
Thanks again for a wonderful vacation!


Ken and Debbie H., Berwick, Maine

 

 

   Contact Us    Rent a Whole Building   
Directions & Maps
   The Estate in All Seasons    MHC
    
_________________________________________________________________________
Bold Colorful Life Gallery - Art and Jewelry         Bold Colorful Life Retreat Center
Bold Colorful Life Coaching  

802 Back River Road, Boothbay, Maine 04537| Email: boldcolorlife@gmail.com


Website Design and Maintenance: Melissa L. Thornton, MBA, LMFT    Copyright © 2007   Last  Updated: July 31, 2016  
G